INNISFAIL MAP EDMONTON
Directions: Exit Edmonton on Hwy 2 south, take exit 368 to access Hwy 54 west toward Caroline/Innisfail, and merge onto Hwy 590.
Distance: 183 km, or about 1 hour and 50 minutes, from Edmonton.
Info: 403-227-3376; www.innisfail.ca;www.innisfailtourism.com.
Innisfail was once a stopping place for stagecoaches and travellers on the C & E Trail. Before the Canadian Pacific Railway gave Innisfail its Celtic name, which means Isle of Destiny, the community was known as Poplar Grove. In 1754, Anthony Henday travelled here on a Hudson’s Bay Company
fur-trading mission, accompanied by members of the Cree tribe. From Antler Hill just east of Innisfail, Henday became the first European to see the Canadian Rockies. Today, almost 8,000 people live here.
INNISFAIL MAP EDMONTON Photo Gallery
Goteborg in Sweden manufactured the machinery. She had one deck, a 14.9-m poop deck, a 49-ton (138.75-cubic.m) house deck and a 7-m forecastle and was fitted with electric lighting. The designated code recognition signal letters were: SGOW. The Baltanglia loaded her general cargo at Hommelvik and while still in Norwegian waters joined the 38-ship convoy HN.8 (Norwegian waters – Methil) on 19 January 1940, arriving at Methil without incident on 22 January. From Methil she sailed south, independently and unescorted behind the defensive minefields, for her destinations at the Tyne and Rochester. On 23 January 1940, however, the Kriegsmarine submarine U19, commanded by Kapitanleutnant Joachim Schepke, torpedoed and sank the steamer six miles east ofBeadnell in Kriegsmarine quadrant AN5186.