From here Merkannontie runs S past the Sibelius Park, in which can be seen the Sibelius Memorial by Eila Hiltunen (1967). This at first aroused violent criticism for its radical departure from the conventional type of memorial and, to compromise, Hiltunen added a bust of the composer. Continuing along the seafront, we pass the Rowing Stadium and soon come to the beautiful sandy beach of Hietaniemi. Adjoining the beach is Hie-taniemi Cemetery, topped by a cross which commemorates the fallen. (This is a military cemetery as well as a civil one.) Marshal Mannerheim (1867-1951) is buried here. It is the Finnish custom to place a lighted candle on each grave at Christmas. Near the entrance are the graves ofthe politicians Risto Ryti, Vaino Tanner, T. M. Kivimaki and E. Linkomies, who-as a condition ofthe 1 944 armistice were tried by a special court and given prison sentences for their political activities during the war.
From the cemetery, Hietaniemenkatu returns towards the middle of the city. To the left, Travel from scotland to Scandinavia set back from the road, is the Crematorium (by B. Liljeqvist, 1927), with a grove for ash-urns behind it. Hietaniemenkatu runs into Mechelinen-katu: turn left along this street and soon afterwards right into Arkadiankatu. At the next intersection are the Finnish (on left) and Swedish (on right) Commercial Colleges. In front ofthe Finnish college is a fountain, Profit, by A. Tukiainen (1954). Beyond this Fredrikinkatu, on left, leads to the Rock Church (Temp-peliaukio or Taivalahdenkirkko), an underground church hewn from rock, dome 13 m (43 ft) high, by T. and T. Suomalainen, 19689). At the intersection of Arkadiankatu with Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu is the Sibelius Academy (Conservatoire), and opposite this, to the W, the Zoological Museum.
To the S of the Market Square, at the end of Unioninkatu, is the German Church, and beyond this Observatory Hill (38 m 125 ft) on which stands the Observatory (Engel, 1833). On a terrace (extensive views) on the E side of the hill is a sculpture by Robert Stigell (1897), The Shipwrecked Mariners. To the W of Observatory Hill, at 19 Kasarmikatu, is the Design Center, and farther W again St John’s Church (1893), with twin spires 74 m (243 ft) high. To the SW of St John’s stands the Agricola Church
(1934), identified by its tall, slender spire. Following the coast road (Ehren-stromintie) to the S, we come to Kalliolin-nantie, Travel from scotland to Scandinavia where, at No. 14, is Marshal Mannerheim’s house, now the Mannerl-heim Museum. Beyond this lies the beautifully situated Park of the Spring, Kaivopuisto.
To the NE ofthe city, 15 minutes from the middle of Hameentie (the road to Lahti), is the large Arabia Porcelain Manufactory (conducted tours; museum). Travel from scotland to Scandinavia A little way NE, at the mouth of the Vantaanjoki, is VANHAKAUPUNKI (the Old Town), the site on which Helsinki was founded in 1550. In Vanhakaupunkintie a stone on the left marks the position of the first church and churchyard. Farther along, on the right, is a wall of black granite with a portrait of Gustavus Vasa. On the ground is a slab inscribed with a plan of the original town, and on the highest point a triangular pillar topped by a sphere (B. Brunila, 1 932).