190 University Ave, Toronto, 647-253-8000
CUISINE: Asian Fusion
DRINKS: Full Bar
SERVING: Lunch & Dinner
PRICE RANGE: $$$
NEIGHBORHOOD: Financial District
Located on the third floor, this Asian eatery features a menu of dishes ideal for sharing. Menus change depending on market availability and uses locally sourced ingredients. Favorites include: Chicken Karaage bun and Grilled trout.
MOMOFUKU DAISHO MAP & ADDRESS & PHONE TORONTO Photo Gallery
Two thirds of the island’s population were involved in cleaning and salting fish and in 1860 there were 36 fishing boats operating full time, By 1875, because of the better facilities and bigger harbours available at North Sunderland (Seahouses) and Eyemouth, the fishing industry declined to just a shadow of its former self. Now all that remains of what was the centre of the thriving herring industry are the old smoking sheds and the upturned hulls of some of the dozens of herring drifters, now made into convenient lock-up sheds. The lobster and crab fishermen still make a good living from the sea, but the mainstay of the population is tourism and the Lindisfarne Mead Company which was founded in 1962. In the 17th century, there was a darker side to the Holy Island fishing industry which is not discussed locally today: like the Cornish fishermen they were accused of deliberately luring ships onto the rocks and then using their boats to loot the cargo. Old records on the history of Lindisfarne make mention of there being a lifeboat on the island as far back as 1786 and there was definitely one there in 1802, which probably qualifies it as the oldest station in the United Kingdom. The first official launching of a lifeboat on the island, however, was not recorded until 1829. It was at that time that a second boat was stationed at the Snook Point, making Holy Island unique: it was probably the only place in Great Britain to have two lifeboats at the same time. During the late 1800s and early 1900s, the Royal National Lifeboat Institute lifeboats were all of similar design to the Lizzie Porter, which now has pride of place in the Grace Darling museum at Bamburgh. This famous lifeboat, the original Holy Island boat and donated to the RNLI by a Miss Elizabeth Porter of Halifax, was rescued from a farmer’s field in a dilapidated state and donated to the museum by a Mr Rowbotham of Nottingham. The one in question is the Lizzie Porter (Official No. 597) self-righting boat. She was built at Thames Iron Works in 1909 at a cost of £823, weighed 4 tons and was 35 feet (10.66 metres) in length, with a beam of 8.6 feet (2.59 metres). The boat was built of diagonal planking on rock elm frames and had ten oars, two masts, a setting lugger sail and a jib. On 18 August 1915, the ship was transporting a cargo of steel rails and general cargo from New York to Archangelsk in Russia when she was wrecked on Sable Island, a small Canadian island situated 111.8 miles southeast of mainland Nova Scotia in the Atlantic Ocean. In 1907 Holy Island had one inshore lifeboat and a heavier vessel, which was used around the Farne Islands. The Lizzie Porter was used regularly until 1925 when she was replaced by a motorised boat and the Lizzie Porter was sent to North Sunderland (Seahouses) where she worked until her retirement in 1936.