Museum of Afro-American History US Map & Phone & Address
46 Joy St. Boston; (617) 742-1854 The historic African Meeting House on Beacon Hill, just below the State House, is the oldest black church still existing in the country. It offers a black version of the Freedom Trail, highlighting significant spots in the neighborhood. Admission is by a suggested donation of $3, $1.50 for students and seniors. Open daily from 10 a.m. to 4 P.M.
Museum of Afro-American History US Map & Phone & Address Photo Gallery
The steamer Otto M’Combie stranded on the Plough Rock and was lost – see Dive (2). On 9 January 1895 the Otto M’Combie (Captain A. Johnson) was voyaging from Amble to Dundee with coal and carrying a crew of ten when she stranded on the Plough Rock; the vessel broke in two and slid back off to become a total wreck The Otto M’Combie (Official No.75257) was a 339-ton steam cargo vessel, completed as Yard No.27 by W. B. Thompson, Dundee in June 1879; she was launched on 7 June 1879 for J. M’Combie and Co. Peterhead. She measured 45. 72 m in length, with a 6.7-m beam and a 3.96-m draught. The iron screw was powered by a two-cylinder compound steam engine that used one boiler. In 1884 the registered owner was Peterhead S.S. Co. Ltd, Peterhead In 1890 she was owned by J. Service, Glasgow and R.B.