The Horn Gallery US Map & Phone & Address
Babson College, Wellesley; (617) 239-4570
An art gallery inside a library, and at a business college to boot! The Horn Gallery is located in the entryway of Babson’s Horn Library. Half a dozen exhibits go up every year, featuring works by area artists. Lots of photography here, as well as special shows like The Building of Babson College, and exhibits to celebrate occasions like Black History Month. The gallery is open during the academic year only; hours are Mondays through Fridays, from 12 noon to 4 p.m.
The Horn Gallery US Map & Phone & Address Photo Gallery
The strange story of the Spika on the Brownsman was that in 1915 she was bound for Hartlepool with pit props but was supposedly abandoned during a storm and left to the elements. She was never seen again until 6 February1953 when she was reported as having been seen by local fishermen off the mouth of the River Tyne. They said they had seen a tall sailing ship with rotting timbers and bare ribs, slipping in and out of the fog banks.’ Then, on 16 February, only ten days later, she was found aground on Brownsman Island in the channel known as Brownsman Haven, situated between Brownsman and South Wamses, It sounds like a regular Marie Celeste story and the tale sounds as tall as the ship itself! It is difficult to believe that any type of vessel could just float around aimlessly for 38 years, especially in the North Sea, surviving two world wars, hundreds of storms and even hurricanes without either being driven ashore or sinking, which would be more likely. That, though, is the story, if you want to believe it. Staple Island is an ornithologist’s delight and a photographer’s paradise between May and July when it is possible to get very close-up views of the hundreds upon hundreds of nesting kittiwakes, shags, guillemots, razorbills, gulls, puffins and fulmars, as well as the occasional oystercatcher and ringed plover. Being similar to Brownsman, it is one of the few islands that have a covering of soil suitable for puffins to dig burrows for nesting. Both of the islands are reputed still to have a few rabbits on them and the puffins use their burrows. The old tower lighthouse was partially destroyed by the Great Storm of 1774 and all that remains of it today is part of the walls, which stand up to 3 metres high. The old tower was used as a beacon light during the time ofWilliam Darling’s father.