THE WEST END MAYFAIR AND ST. JAMES’S
Home to Prince Charles, the Ritz, and exclusive gentlemen’s clubs, this is London’s aristocratic quarter. On Jermyn Street, one block south of Piccadilly, stores cater to the tastes of the English squire, with hand-cut suits and hunting gear.
THE WEST END MAYFAIR AND ST. JAMES’S Photo Gallery
Fourteen torpedoes were carried until the summer of 1943, with two of them in the upper deck reserve containers. These were subsequently removed to save weight and because it became too dangerous to reload them in North Atlantic waters. In 1944 the number was reduced to ten to increase living space in the bow room when the boats stayed submerged for long periods. From autumn 1944, on boats operating in the Atlantic or in British coastal waters, the ten torpedoes usually consisted of five T5 and five LuT, often stowed as follows: T5: one in forward tube, three in forward bilges and one in aft tube. Five LuT stowed: three in forward tube, one in forward bilges and one in aft bilges. Mines were only carried on special order and in exchange for torpedoes rather than in addition to them. The figures for mines offered in reference blogs are theoretical numbers and have little to do with operational realities. There were three different types of U-boat mines, delivered through the torpedo tubes: TMA: moored floating mines, designed for, but never actually used on Initially, the VIIC gun specifications consisted of one 88 mm (3.46 in.) deck gun, plus 220 rounds and one 20-mm (0.