Visit To Copenhagen

In the western district of FREDERIKS-BERG (reached byway of

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



Vesterbrogade and Frederiksberg Alle) is another extensive park, Frederiksberg Have, in the southern part of which stands Frederiksberg Palace, an Italian-style building with an ochre-yellow facade. To the W of the palace is the Zoological Garden, with a children's zoo and a lookout tower. In the district of

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



VALBY, to the S, is the large complex of the Carlsberg Breweries (conducted tours). In Ny Carlsberg

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



Vej the Elephant Tower, a cooling tower borne on four massive granite elephants, is an unusual example of Danish industrial architecture.

In Bispebjerg, 6 km (4 miles) NW of the mid-city (by way ofthe Botanic Garden, Solvgade and Tagensvej), we find the Grundtvig Church (by P.

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



V. Jensen-Klint, 1 921 40), one ofthe major achievements of 20th c. Danish architecture. Standing on high ground, this is a massive structure in yellow brick modelled on a typical Danish country church. The W front resembles a gigantic organ. The church, with a high, light interior, is used for concerts and recitals; the organ is one of the largest in Scandinavia.

SURROUNDINGS. The SE part of Copenhagen lies on the island of Amager, which is linked to Zealand by bridges. On Amager are the Bella Center, a modern exhibition hall, and Kastrup Airport. On the E coast of the island the little fishing town of Dragor, a popular bathing resort, has some well-preserved 18th c. Houses. There are attractive walks through the town, whose inhabitants are concerned to preserve its character unspoiled.

The Lyngbyvej (motorway) runs N from Copenhagen to Kongens Lyngby, Sorgenfri with the little palace of Sorgenfri, the outstation of the National Museum in Brede (temporary exhibitions) and the very interesting Open-Air Museum (Frilandsmuseet), a park of 36 hectares containing old farmhouses, cottages and mills from all over Denmark (including the Fseroes). Every building has authentic old furniture and furnishings.

Another attractive trip to the N of Copenhagen is by way of 0sterbrogade and Strandvejen, passing the Tuborg Brewery (with the largest beer bottle in the world, 26 m (85 ft) high, holding as much as 1,425, 000 normal bottles); then through Hellerup and Charlottenlund (Aquarium, with 3000 fish from all over the world; trotting track) to the Dyrehave, an extensive wild deer-park in which visitors can see red deer and roe-deer grazing, look for mushrooms, cycle, ride, drive in a horse-carriage or merely ramble about on foot. In the beautiful beech forest of some 860 hectares is the Eremitage, a royal hunting lodge which is still in use; magnificent views over the 0resund to Sweden. To the S of the park lies Bakken, a very popular and noisy fairground and amusement park. At the SE corner of the park is the residential suburb and bathing resort of Klampenborg. The coast road continues to the elegant residential towns of Skods-borg,

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



Vedbaek and Rungsted. To the Louisiana art gallery and Helsingor, 128.

Copenhagen the highway passes residential districts (modern apartments) of Albertslund, Brnd-by Strand and Ishoj and then through flat and treeless country of no particular attraction to Koge (pop. 35, 000; Hvide Hus Hotel, Strandvejen 111, 202 youth hostel; two camp sites), a port in Koge Bay with many attractive old timber-framed houses (the oldest dating from 1527) and St Nicholas's Church, which has a beautiful carved pulpit and altar (1624) 7 km (4 miles) S is the Renaissance mansion of

Photo Gallery of Visit To Copenhagen

Click to on Photo for Next Visit To Copenhagen Images



Vallo (1586), which since 1738 has housed an institution for ladies of the nobility. An elegant three-storeyed building with two massive towers, one round and one square, it was ravaged by a fire in 1893 which destroyed the whole of the interior. The house is surrounded by a broad moat and a beautiful park.

Leave a Reply