9 km (5 miles): road on right to Siuntio (Swedish Sjundea: 11 km 7 miles), with a church (1460, old coats of arms). Continue on Road 51: 38 km (24 miles) to Karjaa (Swedish Karis: Seurahuone Hotel, 18 b.), with a 14th c. stone church renovated by C.L. Engel in 1828-31. Continue SW on Road 53, skirting the Sapausseka ridge of hills. In 4 km (2 miles) a road goes off on the left to Snappertuna (7 km 4 miles); 1 km (f mile) S of the church are the remains of Raseborg Castle (14th c.). Road 53 continues past Raaseporistation and another road to Snappertuna branches off on the left. Just before Ekenas, on the left, are the barracks of the Dragsvik Brigade, the only Swedish-speaking brigade in the Finnish army (commands are given in Finnish). 14 km (9 miles): Ekenas (Finnish Tammisaaripop. 7500; Kongressihotelli, 37 SB; Marine, 70 Gastis, 20 youth hostel; camp site), an attractive old town situated on a promontory, with a population which is 80% Swedish-speaking. It is a popular vacation resort in summer, as it has a beautiful beach. 17th c. stone church. 1-5 km (1 mile) beyond Ekenas, Road 52 goes off on the right to Turku: Road 53 continues SW. On the remaining 35 km (22 miles) to Hanko remains of various fortifications can be seen; they date from the period after the Winter War of 1939-40, when Finland was obliged to lease the Hanko area to the Soviet Union.
Hanko (Swedish Hango pop. 10,000; Regatta Hotel, 80 Silversand, 40 youth hostel; camp site), located at the tip of a peninsula, is Finland’s most southerly town a commercial, industrial and tourist area and the only Finnish free port (rail ferry terminal). International sailing regatta and tennis tournament in July; open-air concerts and theatrical performances in summer; bathing beach 5 km (3 miles) long. On the VSdberg are a church (1892) and a water-tower 50 m (165 ft) high (panoramic views of the city and sea). Soviet war memorial (1960), with the graves of over 400 soldiers. On the offshore islands are old fortifications built by the Swedes in the 18th c. and destroyed by the Russians in 1854. In the East Harbour is a museum. Approximately half the population of the town is Swedish-speaking.
Helsinki to Turku via Lohja and Ekenas (219 km (136 miles); about 50 km (31 miles) longer than the direct road to Turku). Leave Helsinki by way of Mannerheimintie and take the Turku motorway (highway). In 44 km (27 miles), at the end of the motorway, take Road 53, which runs SW, skirting a lake, and in 14 km (9 miles) reaches Lohja (Swedish Lojo. pop. 13,700; Laurinporti Inn, 31 Kaupungin-hotelli, 18 youth hostel; camp site), beautifully set in wooded country on the shores of the Lohjanjarvi (alt. 31 m (102 ft); area 110 sq. km (42 sq. miles); maximum depth 58 m 190 ft); water-tower, with cafe (good view as far as Tallinn). The 14th c. church (restored 1886-9), built of undressed stone, contains
fine 16th c. wall paintings. 19 km (12 miles) NW is Sammatti. In the churchyard is the grave of E. Lonnrot (born on Paikkari farm, 4 km (21 miles) N), collector and editor of the Finnish national epic Kalevala. Road 53 continues SW and is joined in 10 km (6 miles) by the road from Siuntio. 23 km (14 miles): Karjaa. 18 km (11 miles): Ekenas (Finnish Tammisaari). Rewarding detour to Hanko. Continue on Road 52 through flat country, thickly wooded. 14 km (9 miles): Tenaa, with a church first mentioned in the 14th c. 19 km (12 miles) SW, on a charming road which crosses an island and then runs around a bay, is Bromarv. Near here, in Rilaks Bay, Peter the Great defeated the Swedish fleet in 1714. Continues on Road 52, via Pernio (21 km (13 miles): 14th15th c. church); then another 22 km (14 miles) to Salo (Kaupunginhotelli, 55 Salo, 42 b.), where Road 52 joins E3, coming from Helsinki: follow this road W to reach Turku (53 km (33 miles): 273).
During the summer there are excursions from Helsinki to Leningrad by sea and bus (4 days).