In 1791, the Pantheon was officially dedicated as a burial place for notable Frenchmen. It is essentially a grand mausoleum. The Pantheon was restored to Catholic use in 1821, but ten years later became a secular mausoleum again. The Catholics got the building back in 1852, but in the intervening two decades, the Communards supposedly dispersed all the relics. By 1885 an agreement was reached for the Pantheon to serve both secular and liturgical uses.
The first burial in the Pantheon was Honore Gabriel Riqueti, comte de Mirabeau (March 9, 1749-April 2, 1791), but his stay was brief. He was disinterred on November 25, 1794 and replaced by Jean-Paul Marat. Marat’s stay at the Pantheon was even briefer. Less than three months later, he was disinterred and took up permanent residence near Sainte Genevieve’s relics, but in the churchyard next to the church of Saint-Etienne-du-Mont rather than the church itself. The churchyard has been paved over and nothing remains.
Edward Winslow of Plymouth recommended to those considering relocation to his colony, Bring every man a musket or fowling piece. St. Louis Metro Map Let your piece be long in the barrel.â Some of these firearms were as long as 7Â½ feet in length, which meant that they had to be fired from a stand with supports. Most fowling pieces appeared in the Hudson Valley of New York, where their use would be natural because of the annual migration patterns of ducks and geese in that area. To summarize, all the colonies used matchlock firearms during the first half of the seventeenth century, rapidly changing to flintlock as they sought the best firearms available. As a result, the colonies were years ahead of Europe in accepting this new type of weapon, which better fitted the actual needs of the people using them.
Photo Gallery of St. Louis Metro Map
Click to on Photo for Next St. Louis Metro Map Images